Approved Snack Cracker

Hi Reader;

Every now and then, I stumble on a product that is new to me that I like so much, I want to share it.  This product also pulled my heartstrings with it’s GMO label.  Read on.

One of the things you miss, when you stop eating wheat, is crackers.  Crackers and cheese have always been one of my favorite snacks and one that I actually miss.  Also, the times when there are dips or spreads that just don’t taste too good with organic (NON GMO) tortilla chips (which is my normal go to).  I have used rice crackers for some time, but really, I am not in love with them AND they are wildly over priced, since they are marketed as gluten-free.

I found these recently:

Genisoy Soy Crisps - Sea Salt flavor

Genisoy Soy Crisps – Sea Salt flavor

These are prepared gluten-free, however, the company cannot guarantee there is no cross contamination, due to wheat products being produced on the same factory lines.  So, if you are strict Celiac, this would not be considered a wise choice.  Since I am not that sensitive, it does not bother my stomach, at all.

Even if you have not omitted wheat from your diet, try these anyway!  They are delicious and they are nutritious too.   Way more nutritious than the typical wheat cracker.  They taste similar to a rice cake, but in my opinion, taste better.  They are crispy and light.  Their ingredient list is exactly the way I like it – minimal:

Genisoy Soy Crisps - Sea Salt flavor nutritional label

Genisoy Soy Crisps – Sea Salt flavor nutritional label

The only negative thing that I can find about this product is it’s moderately high sodium level.  It’s not high sodium, but it does contain some.  So, if you watch your sodium intake, you may want to limit how many of these you eat.  Also, my standard advice is to limit soy, to a bare minimum because of it’s ability to interfere with your endocrine system.  As I said, this is a cracker that I use for the rare occasion when I’m craving one.  It’s definitely not part of my every day diet.

With all of this being said, my very favorite part of this product is that it is used from soybeans that were not genetically engineered.  The soybean industry scares me.  Most of the soybeans consumed in America are GMO’s.  Typically, I steer clear of soybeans (see paragraph above).  If our government would impose strict labeling laws, for food packaging, we wouldn’t have to be concerned with GMO’s sneaking in without us realizing it.  BUT until then, it’s so nice to see a company that lets us know, without having to be told to do so.

Leave a Reply

