Eggplant Lasagna

Dear Reader,

Last night, I made this really simple meal that everyone gave a thumbs up (well, not the littlest one).  It was pretty messy (watery) when we scooped it out of the pan, but it tasted great and it was healthy.  I think if we had let it rest for a moment, it may have firmed up.

So, it fits my criteria: easy, tasty, healthy.

Let’s talk about eggplant for a moment.  Eggplant is our carbohydrate friend.  Carbs are not bad.  Most vegetables are carbs.

One cup of eggplant supplies you with tons of fiber, a high dose of Vitamin B1, Copper, Maganese, Vitamin B6, Vitamin B3, Potassium, Folate, Vitamin K.  It has a very low glycemic index and it’s only 35 calories, for those of you who track.  Down side: it is high sodium (for a veggie).

As a meat and gluten avoider, I eat quite a bit of eggplant, mostly for its substance.  It holds up well; it’s a good substitute for noodles.  In fact, when I feed the rest of my family spaghetti, I roast a whole eggplant, diced, and pour spaghetti sauce over it, instead of noodles.

PS Don’t peel it.  The skin contains really powerful antioxidants to promote healthy cells!

Eggplant Lasagna

1 large eggplant, sliced medium (not too thin)

1 large can or box of tomato sauce of your choice

1/4 cup of parmesan cheese, shredded

1/4 cup of monterey jack cheese, shredded

garlic powder and italian seasoning

Preheat oven to 375.  From the bottom up, layer eggplant, sauce, sprinkle with spices, cheese, repeat until you are out of eggplant.   Cook for 50-55 minutes (less if you use a larger, shallow pan).

That’s it.  Perfect weeknight meal with vitamins and nutrients, but without the fat and the calories.

photo 3

I think part of the secret is in the tomatoes you choose.   These “fire roasted” have a great flavor.  As always, check the ingredients.  There shouldn’t be anything in there besides tomatoes and maybe citric acid.

photo 2

I used a really deep pan, but you could use any shape or size.  You could even add another eggplant if you wanted to feed more than a family of 4.  If I were feeding 4 adults, I would definitely use a second eggplant and add more sauce and cheese, as well.

photo 1I did not remember to take a “finished” photo.  By the time I remembered, the pan was empty.  But, here is what it looks like just before popping into the oven.

photo 4I reserved most of my cheese for the top.

Leave a Reply

