Gluten Free Meatloaf

Dear Reader;

One of my daughter’s favorite meals is meatloaf and it’s existence in my house has been zero since I’ve had to go completely gluten-free.  The other night, I made a gluten-free version and it was “delicious” according to her.  It wasn’t bad, in my opinion, but I’m not the biggest meatloaf fan.

Personally, I would have preferred ground turkey over ground beef, but ground beef is high in Vitamins B, which is a positive for my diet, so we went with ground beef this time.  Feel free to choose any ground meat you wish.  The leaner the better, if you are watching calories or if you are on a heart-health diet plan.  I chose a higher fat meat because that’s what was readily available that was organic. I choose higher-fat-content over non-organic meats, hands down.  In a very healthy and diverse diet, full of nutrients and healthy fats, void of processed foods and preservatives, higher fat meats are okay.  They aren’t the demon that we’ve been taught they are.

Organic meats are always better, if you can.  They are free of hormones, antibiotics, and are organically fed.

Gluten Free Meatloaf

1 pound of ground turkey, beef or other ground meat

1 cup of sushi grade white rice, cooked*

Choose any ground meat you like.

Choose any ground meat you like.

1/2 cup diced red bell pepper

1/2 cup diced green bell pepper

1/2 cup diced onion

2-garlic cloves, minced

1-large egg

1 tablespoon of dried italian seasoning

2 tablespoons of ketchup

2 tablespoons of mustard

1 tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce

salt and pepper to taste

Check every single ingredient label you use.  The ketchup, mustard and Worcestershire should be gluten-free.  Gluten lurks in many sauces, so please don’t assume.

Mixing bowl.

Mixing bowl.

Throw it all into a bowl and use your hands to mix it all into the ground beef.  Form the mixture into a loaf.

You can use a loaf pan, but I used a pan with a cookie cooling rack instead.  I didn’t want it to sit in its own oil and juice.  The leaner the meat, the less this would be a problem.

Bake, uncovered, 375 degrees for 40-55 minutes, depending on the rareness you prefer.  Check lighter colored meats sooner – chicken and turkey.  Feel free to slice open the middle to check for done-ness.

Gluten Free Meatloaf

Gluten Free Meatloaf

The kids liked it, a lot.  It delivered nutritionally, without a bunch of added ingredients that were bad for you.  I give it a thumbs up and it will make an appearance on my menu again.

*A note about the rice:

I decided to chat a moment about this, because you may have some questions about why I would choose white rice over brown rice.  I’ve recently read a lot of scientific data that points to very low levels of arsenic being found in rice.  It’s highest tested levels are found in brown rice.  NOT that I am saying this level is toxic.  I just chose to use white rice with this in the back of my mind.  The truth of the matter is that we don’t eat it enough (in my house) to be concerned about it, so knowing the brown may not be the best, I chose the rice my family prefers, taste wise.  I make calls based on what my gut says.  If you’d like to use brown rice, go for it.

3 thoughts on “Gluten Free Meatloaf

  1. I read a lot of interesting articles here. Probably you spend a
    lot of time writing, i know how to save you a lot
    of work, there is an online tool that creates readable,
    google friendly articles in seconds, just type in google – k2seotips unlimited content

  2. I read a lot of interesting articles here. Probably you spend a lot
    of time writing, i know how to save you a lot of time,
    there is an online tool that creates readable, google friendly posts in seconds, just search
    in google – laranitas free content source

  3. It’s hard to find your page in google. I found it on 17 spot,
    you should build quality backlinks , it will help you to get
    more visitors. I know how to help you, just search in google
    – k2 seo tips and tricks

Leave a Reply

