Book Review: The Calorie Myth

Dear Reader;

Have you ever heard of the book called The Calorie Myth written by Jonathan Bailor?

No?  Well, today is your lucky day.  Read on.

CalorieMyth-HC-w-flap-11-24-2013-40k

It’s rare that I will actually recommend a book.

AND I will disclaim, I do have a few differing opinions, but I feel the good message of this book is way more valuable than the problems I have with it.

My Review

I am going to give you my opinion of what I read within the pages of The Calorie Myth.

First, I want to start by saying, Jonathan and I have a very similar belief system about food.  There are a few key differences (like his opinion about beans, certain veggies and fruits), but overall, he and I are on the same page.  I am so jealous of his ability to articulate things as well as he does!  He has a way of making things make complete sense.  He is a master at drawing parallels and using analogies to make something ludicrous or NOT make sense.  The things we’ve all been taught; the things we all stand by, in our thoughts about food and the things that guide all of our decisions, are not necessarily true.  THAT is why we are getting fatter!

Here is a clip, that will give you a good idea of what I mean:

Life changing would be a good description of the book, especially for someone out there who has struggled with weight for some time.  This may be the missing link that’s needed.

His point in a very condensed nutshell is:

Why are we all fatter and sicker than ever before, especially since the word/term calorie is a modern-day addition to our nutritional vocabulary and dialect, so we are all counting them, yet getting sick and fat.  If the “authorities on these subjects” are correct, why are we going in the opposite direction in terms of things like:

  • health and general disease
  • ideal weight
  • heart disease and heart attacks
  • hypertension
  • diabetes and insulin resistance
  • metabolic syndrome as a whole (even its existence)
  • cancer deaths

It doesn’t make sense.  That’s the point of his book. WHY are we all doing the same things, expecting different results and at the same time, looking at the biggest obesity epidemic, EVER!

Our nation is in crisis.  I scream about this crisis from the rooftops and it’s why I blog.  I have  intense passion when it comes to food and our health. I 100% know, without a doubt, it is the key to our health, disease and death.  This stuff we are calling food is making us all very sick, but we are all so addicted to it, we can’t see around it.  Most of us have no idea that we are addicted to this crap.

If you’d like to read something that will impact the way you look at food, read this book.  It will change the way you look at food and especially if you are the calorie counter / obsessed / yo-yo dieter.

I say this to people all the time and they just glaze over and don’t believe me, but I have been an ideal weight since 2010 (with the exception of a few times, being too thin) and I have NOT COUNTED ONE SINGLE CALORIE.  I swear!

It’s called clean food.

Jonathan Bailor articulates this topic like a champ.  I will probably borrow a lot of what he says from this point forward, to use with my clients.

The things that I differ with his opinion are very few, but here are two main difference:

  1. I believe that any improvement on the American diet is wonderful. Let’s not get hung up on restricting our natural foods.  If you love bananas and they keep you from eating cereal bars for breakfast, go for it.   As a general rule, if it grows out of the ground and you eat it in it’s unprocessed form, I cannot totally agree with anyone thinking we should limit those foods.
  2. His entire philosophy on exercise.  I wish he would spend some more time going in-depth about it because I bet we don’t disagree as much as it seems.  Two big things are: I think we DO need cardio.  He says we don’t, really.  BUT I believe that we do need it for heart health, stamina, mental clarity, digestive health and energy level.  NOT to lose weight, mind you.  Also, I really believe in the strength training exercise, more in a traditional sense.  I think boredom would become a major issue, using his philosophy and I also believe it would be difficult for a beginner to implement.

I encourage you to read his book.

Do you know anyone who is having health problems?  Do them a favor and share this blog post with them.  It could save their life, especially if they are suffering from metabolic syndrome, obesity, heart disease, high blood pressure, type two diabetes or auto immune disorders.

If you have a little more time, here is an interview style of video (48-minutes) with Abel James, talking to Jonathan Bailor about his book (fast forward to minute 5:55 – he rambles a bit in the beginning).

Leave a Reply

