No Bake Protein Bar

Dear Reader;

We can spend a ton of money on protein bars.  The only commercial protein bar that I will eat cost $2.87 each.  So, when I came across this recipe, I decided to try it out.  I know they don’t look too appetizing, but they are pretty darn good, they are made with clean ingredients and they are easy!  I am even okay with feeding these to my kids!  That’s how clean they are.

image

These are gluten-free because I used certified gluten-free oats.  

I divided this pan into 8-servings (instead of 6) and bagged them into the snack sized zip top bags for portability.   

INGREDIENTS:
2 cups organic (certified gluten-free – optional) quick cook oats
1/2 cup organic natural peanut butter (I used the kind you fresh grind at the Whole Foods)
2-scoops Terra’s Whey Organic Bourbon Vanilla Protein Powder (these scoops are large and  equivalent of 4-scoops for most other brands)
1 tablespoon organic ground flax
1/2 cup water

Nutritional info if bars divided by 6 and before added ingredients:

calories-310 / fat-13g / carb-28g / protein-22g

I added:
1 tablespoon organic dutch process cocoa powder
1/2 cup organic mixed and dried fruits/seeds

DIRECTIONS:
Mix all ingredients together with your hands. Line glass loaf pan with parchment paper. Press into the bottom and pat down until smooth. Freeze for 30-minutes. Remove and cut into 8-servings (or 6).

Store in the refrigerator.

Originated from: Oxygen Magazine

Leave a Reply

