Jicama Cherry Spinach Salad

Dear Reader;

I eat a lot of salads and I get sick of the same ole ones.  Wanna spice up your lunch sac?  Try this spinach salad.  I have another newbie I’m going to share with you next week.  See what you think.

Jicama Cherry Spinach Salad

serves: 1 calories: 385 protein: 10g fat: 18g carbs: 50

2 cups of organic baby spinach

1/3 cup of dried cherries (make sure you’re not eating cherries with added sugar)

1/2 cup cubed jicama (see my notes below on this fruity root)

3 tablespoons freshly grated pecorino romano cheese

2-4 tablespoons balsamic vinaigrette dressing (I used Central Market Italian Balsamic Vinaigrette)

Jicama Cherry Spinach Salad

Jicama Cherry Spinach Salad

Have you ever bought a jicama (also called yam bean)?  If not, you may be stumped how to deal with it.  It is a root and looks like one.  CUT the peeling off with a knife, very similar to how you would treat a fresh pineapple, but it’s much easier and less messy. Wash it once you’ve removed the peel.  Slice and chop.

I like to use fresh jicama as a snack, plain.  I slice it into thin strips that are the same size and shape as french fries and eat them.  They are good for you too!   Jicama is low in calories, high in fiber and vitamin C.

6 thoughts on “Jicama Cherry Spinach Salad

    • Haha, I know. I was introduced a long, long time ago by a woman that I knew through my mother-in-law. I’m so glad, too. It’s one of those things that is intimidating at first, but once you see how easy it is to peel and slice and once you’ve tried out the flavor, you can add it to all kinds of things! I really like it as a slaw too, used instead of cabbage. Or as an addition to fruit salads. Try it out and let me know how it goes!

Leave a comment